Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default PTO questions

Hello Im looking at a JD3720 cab & Bobcat CT440 Cab & Mahindra 4510 Cab Tractors, and one of my many uses besides snow blowing,Hay baling with a mini baler, brush cutting, is to have a 30+hp PTO generator to keep my animal's water trough as well as my house powered during winter power outages.

From what ive read some of the tractor manufacturers have a PTO cut off switch in thier seats, would those prevent me from a pto generator without me in the tractor? If so do either of these 3 have this automatic shut off?

forgive me im pretty new at this so you shall find more newb questions because when i need to buy something $20-30k i ask ALOT of dumb questions. i only want to do this once for a very long time

Super Star Member
    Tractor
    Kubota, John Deere, Case, Massey Ferguson, Ford

Default Re: PTO questions

I don't know about the models mentioned, but with my Kubotas there is a procedure which allows use of the PTO while you are not present. I don't think you can do this with the JD, but may with the others.
    Thread on helpful tractor abbreviations: http://www.tractorbynet.com/forums/o...-acronyms.html

Gold Member
    Tractor
    JDs:

I have a JD 3720 cab and you can use any of the PTOs without being on the seat. I do this all the time with my rear PTO chipper. You just need to follow a few safty steps...like put in N, etc.

Quote Originally Posted by 9973720wb19 View Post
    I have a JD 3720 cab and you can use any of the PTOs without being on the seat. I do this all the time with my rear PTO chipper. You just need to follow a few safty steps...like put in N, etc.
    What other saftey steps? so am i able to do this without jimmy rigging stuff.... i dont like to jimmy rig things ever.

Elite Member
    Tractor
    JD 5525 and 5093e Kubota SVL75

Quote Originally Posted by Covfam

What other saftey steps? so am i able to do this without jimmy rigging stuff.... i dont like to jimmy rig things ever.