Buying Advice Should A Front Loader Be 4WD?

/ Should A Front Loader Be 4WD? #1  

genusCastor

Silver Member
Tractor
see sig
I read a comment on here that got me thinking: A tractor with a front loader should be a 4WD because a 2WD tractor doesn't have enough traction to operate a loader. Is this true? Having grown up on a farm and worked on a dairy farm, I am somewhat familiar with tractors. But I have very little experience with front loaders...

Thanks.

- djb

/ Should A Front Loader Be 4WD? #2  
4wd greatly enhances the operation of a tractor with a loader, power steering is a plus also.

/ Should A Front Loader Be 4WD? #3  
Much better braking also. Everything is a plus getting 4WD..

/ Should A Front Loader Be 4WD? #4  
There are some pretty long threads on this with a lot of people successfully using a 2WD tractor and loader. For my conditions a 4WD is essential as we tried a 2WD and traded it in after about a month or so.

/ Should A Front Loader Be 4WD? #5  
With enough ballast (weight in the rear), you would probably be ok with 2wd. With that said, even with the loaded tires and the backhoe mounted on my tractor, the rear can get light when lifting something real heavy like a rock or something that maxes out the loader. I wouldn't want a tractor loader without 4wd, that's for sure. With nothing mounted on the back of the tractor, the loader is pretty useless without 4wd as the rear tires come off the ground even when lifting a bucket full of sand.

/ Should A Front Loader Be 4WD? #6  
I think that with a lightweight tractor, as many are these days with the popularity of compact tractors on the rise, 4WD is nothing short of mandatory. With heavier tractors, IF you operate on relatively level ground and not in sinking soil, 2WD can serve you well.