Bobcat CT122 vs Kubota 1816 vs New Holland 1020

/ Bobcat CT122 vs Kubota 1816 vs New Holland 1020 #1  

CPTKILLER

Silver Member
Tractor
Kioti CK2610
In a past life, I was a manufacturing engineering manager for a large Japanese forklift manufacturer in Texas. My view will be largely based on the manufacturing & design. My son-in-law runs a excavation business and provided a professionals perspective.

In general both the Kubota and the New Holland are competitive. Both are well made and reflect features of their larger siblings from operator's or driver's position. In general the basic designs are solid, the driver's position is roomy for their size, the engines are a known entity, and the dealer networks are extensive.

With Bobcat based on my experience with their excellent skid steer, I had high expectations. This was not to be. The driver's position is more crowded than the competitors. The tractor is manufactured in South Korea with a small South Korean diesel engine. The overall design is not well thought out and reminds me of the early Hyundai's when they came into the U.S. This is a Korean, not a U.S. or Japanese design. Fit & finish or not as good as the competition. Welds appear to be very sloppy. This is a warning bell to me and makes me question the integrity of the frame and attachments. It is not like their skid steers.

Based on pricing in Lafayette, Louisiana, the Bobcat is not competitive with the Kubota or New Holland which was another surprise.

After both of us looked at the Bobcat, it rapidly came off of a subcompact tractor shortlist. The Kubota and New Holland are both good with good designs, quality, and excellent dealer network.

We will move to Texas and get one or the other (Kubota or New Holland). The dealer where we plan to go sells both. They are good candidates. The Bobcat is not competitive and is not at the maturity or quality level of either competitor.

/ Bobcat CT122 vs Kubota 1816 vs New Holland 1020 #2