Lift Capacity @ 24" for SubCompacts

/ Lift Capacity @ 24" for SubCompacts #1  

MARKMILES77

Tractor
Yanmar EA 2400
Hello All from Australia

I have no experience with tractors and am looking at buying a sub compact tractor for my 2 acres. I have a question about rear lift capacity on the MF GC2400.
Browsing the MF website I notice that they list the GC2400 lift capacity @ 24" behind the ball ends at only 550 Ibs which is significantly less than any of the other sub compact tractors.
The MF "compare" webpage for the GC2400 lists the following stats for rear lift capacity @ 24":

Boomer 1025 700lbs
JD 2305 680lbs
Kubota BX2360 670lbs
MF GC2400 550lbs
These are the figures given by Massey Ferguson so presumably they know the capacity of the GC2400.
Even the little CubCadet has a lift around 670lbs.

The lift capacity for the GC2400 at the ball ends is 1191lbs which is more than the BX2360 at 992lbs
How can the GC2400 have more lift than the BX2360 at the ball ends but significantly less at 24" behind the ball ends"?

Which figure is more important for carrying stuff on the carryall, capacity at the ball ends or at 24" behind the ball ends?

Thanks for any replies.

Mark

Harkaway Australia

/ Lift Capacity @ 24" for SubCompacts #2  
24" is often the center of the load or a more real number to work from for what it lifts!

That is in a perfect world. But what's perfect! I don't think that you will be trying or should be trying to lift more then 500lbs on a tractor of that size on the three point.

I am aware that things are different Down-under but not by that much!

/ Lift Capacity @ 24" for SubCompacts #3  
24" is the important figure for your carryall.

I would be concerned about this too. Makes you wonder whether its because the tractor is lighter, shorter, built less heavy duty, less hydraulic flow, or what? It could be an innocuous trade-off in design features or it could be a sign that its not as rugged. The rest of the specs might clue you in as to which.