New at buying

/ New at buying #1  

Anonymous Poster

I'm building on 14 acres and plan on planting 7 acres in grass. I'll need to do a lot of landscaping plus mowing and snow plowing. I've been looking at compacts between 25 -30hp with 60" deck, front end loader, front blade, tiller and box scraper. I'm new at this - so does this sound about right? Also anyone have a recommendation on tractor model, etc? Thanks

/ New at buying #2  
Walt, sounds like you've got it about right. As for brands . . ., personal preference, what "feels" good to YOU is probably the right one. Kubota, John Deere, and New Holland are the big three; all good tractors, but if you read much on this forum, you'll find lots of folks who also like the Massey, Cub Cadets, Kioti, others.

/ New at buying #3  
I would say that your on the right track for the size of property you have. Actually something in the 29 to 33 HP, midsize frame might be an appropriate size. This will give you enough weight versus HP for decent traction. And yet allow you to obtain a front loader with good lifting capacities (min. 1000#) and a decent size Hd bucket, to be able to accomplish projects within a reasonable amount of time. This frame size also handles a good 7.5 ft backhoe should you want/need one in the future. Most of these models will also have enough power to handle a 72" mower deck (3pt RFM or MMM) and a 5' tiller, 6.5' or 7' front blade and a 5' or 6' box blade.