Tractor tires

/ Tractor tires #1  

Anonymous Poster

I'll be buying a tractor this spring and already got alot of feedback from the forum on model, size etc., but I never thought about tires (I am really new at this). I'll be doing alot of landscaping initially, then mowing, snow plowing, yard maintence, etc. I was planning on turf tires but maybe R4's are better. I don't really kown what R4's are for. Any help out there?

/ Tractor tires #2  
Walt, R1 or ag tires for maximum traction, but may be hard on the turf, turf tires for going easy on the grass, but may lack traction at times, R4 or industrial tires are the compromise in between the other two./w3tcompact/icons/laugh.gif A few years ago, we hardly ever saw R4 tires on anything except commercial loader/backhoes and such, and now I don't actually have any statistics, but suspect there are more compact tractors sold with R4 tires than any other tire. The R4s are also more puncture resistant than the others.

/ Tractor tires #3  
I have turfs. I chose them because I thought 95% of my tractor usage would be mowing(turned out to be about 60% FEL time) They are very easy on the grass and do fine in snow on flat land. They also work well off road when its dry. I get enough traction that I can stall the tractor before the tires start spinning on hard dirt. I did have a few thorn punctures that I treated with slime. On side slopes in snow, the tractor wants to slide downhill. On very wet grass it will slide too. I've had them in light mud and they did OK, but my tractor is light weight and 4wd. In deep mud or wet clay I would be spinning. Most people that have the same tractor as me chose R4s and seem to be very happy. They report no problems on the lawn. After listening to them and experiencing turfs first hand, I don't know what I should do. If I need traction this winter or in mud, I'll probably get chains. Hope this helps, but it is pretty wishy washy /w3tcompact/icons/laugh.gif

/ Tractor tires