looking to buy

/ looking to buy #1  

NIXON

Veteran Member
Tractor
L3130 hst
Hi All . I'm a total newbie as far as buying and owning a tractor . I own about 4.5 acres in western pa. It's all wooded. If you can call Aspen and Larch trees :) The site is an old strip mine (from 50 odd years ago ) What I'm looking for is a 4wd tractor in the 20-30 hp range. The uses for the tractor will be .... Tearing out a lot of the larch ,prepping the ground for replanting native hard woods , Post hole digging, maintaining an 800' gravel drive, snow removal, brush hogging,moving soil and rocks , the ability to operate a back hoe is also a consideration and generally anything else I that comes to mind . One thing I don't need is a mower deck. If it sounds like I'm looking for the Swiss Army Knife of Tractors, I suppose I am :)
Price IS an issue , But the ability to work ,and reliability are the first considerations . I don't want a machine that is under powered and consequently gets beaten to death. On the other hand I don't think a 40 hp tractor would be cost effective .
Any insights you folks have as far as brands ,hp ,and attachment are most welcomed .
feel free to E Mail me direct if you want .
Thank you ,and all the best . John (farret@nb.net )

/ looking to buy #2  
If price is an issue what's your price range? That there will narrow the considerations quite a bit.

/ looking to buy
Richard,
Price is fairly open to me . I'd like to keep things under 15k.
That obviously puts me in the used,or Grey market . Going to the various dealers in the area has been daunting to say the least . They seem to be a fairly stand offish bunch . Maybe it's because I'm used to dealing with car salesman :)
John

/ looking to buy #4