Mitsu MT372 vs Ford 801 with 12 speed

/ Mitsu MT372 vs Ford 801 with 12 speed #1  

tcnjdeluca

Hello,

I am very new to this so bear with me if I have no idea what I am talking about. I am going to be closing soon on a 4.5 acre home that is currently about half mowed and half brush. The house is also at the end of a long private ROW (1/4 mi) and the three homes on the end take turns clearing the snow. So I am looking for a machine that can help mow (and clear that brush) and well as help out with the snow removal. I have found two local ads. One for a Mitsubishi MT372 and a very clean Befco C50 mower deck for $2500 the other is a 1961 ford 801 with new tires, hydraulic pump and gauges with Sherman 12spd trans. (No Mower) for $2350 OBO. Eventually I would like to attach a plow or bucket to whatever machine I purchase to help with the snow.

Any opinions on which one of these is a better machine/buy for my needs. I could spend a little more if need be -- but I do like the price range these are in. Thanks for any advice/guidance.

Dan

/ Mitsu MT372 vs Ford 801 with 12 speed #2  
The Ford is a good tractor, I have a 861, which is the same with more options. I would not want a loader on it though. No power steering and a loader means you need arms like Popeye. They have weak hydros, and only 2 wheel drive. Actually only 1 wheel drive. I do not know about the Mits but both are going to be hard to find a loader for and if you do you are taking $5000. Same for the Ford.

If you want to be serious about this talk to the neighbors. You can move a lot of snow with the 801 and a 7' rear grader blade but much more then 10" at a time will be about impossible. It does sound like a decent buy if you can get it for say $2000.

My advise is start with it and then upgrade when its time for a loader.

Chris

/ Mitsu MT372 vs Ford 801 with 12 speed #3