Your opinion please

/ Your opinion please #1  

Tom Hogg

Me and the wife are looking at starting a small sheep operation with intentions to grow. I don't know much about tractors but will eventually need one for what we're looking at acomplishing. We'll probably only start with 15-25 head. I'm looking for something that will be relatively easy to work on. I'm new to tractors but am mechanically inclined. Mainly something with a bucket that will handle waste/snow removal. I'll probably eventually start farming my own hay, so something that will handle those empliments. I guess a good all around starter tractor that a dummy like me can work on.

Any suggestions or good places to start. Thanks, Tom

/ Your opinion please #2  
Me and the wife are looking at starting a small sheep operation with intentions to grow. I don't know much about tractors but will eventually need one for what we're looking at acomplishing. We'll probably only start with 15-25 head. I'm looking for something that will be relatively easy to work on. I'm new to tractors but am mechanically inclined. Mainly something with a bucket that will handle waste/snow removal. I'll probably eventually start farming my own hay, so something that will handle those empliments. I guess a good all around starter tractor that a dummy like me can work on.

Any suggestions or good places to start. Thanks, Tom

The older 40 hp Ford, IH and Massey will be hard to beat for haying with mower, rake and square baler. Ken Sweet

/ Your opinion please #3  
Are you looking at new or used?

If used, I can't beat Ken's advice, I have been tempted to buy another older model Ford myself even though I don't really need one; same for Massey and IH, all nice old tractors.

It might help to fill out your profile or provide more information on your location and terrain as a 4WD may be indicated depending on that.

/ Your opinion please
I'm from southwestern Montana but as far as terrain I don't think I'll be doing anything