Buying Advice Newbie asking for opinions

/ Newbie asking for opinions #1  

water63

Hi all, I am new to buying a tractor and I have not yet made a decision but I am hoping to get some opinions.

I have approx. 25 acres of pasture to mow/maintain, but I have somebody that cuts and bales most of it. It is mainly just weeds, the edges of the property, and the yard (basically just pasture) that I want to keep up. I also have some heavy lifting needs and would like to even out some rough spots with a small disc or tiller. I have a mower that I still use but the grass and weeds get out of hand everywhere but the yard.

My budget is approx. $18,000 but I would love to spend less if I can get away with it.

The main things that I am looking for are bang for my buck, quality, and ease of resale.

Thanks in advance for the advice!

/ Newbie asking for opinions #2  
you could get by probly with a mx4700 w/la844 loader.an that would do your shredding an should do your lifting.2wd drive tractors will be cheaper.

/ Newbie asking for opinions #3  
Boy...if you want opinions, you have definitely come to the right place!!!

So, you want to clean up weeds and such on 25 acres that is currently worked by someone else. I'll guess you're looking at cleaning up the periphery of the acreage. I'll guess that would be two laps around the acreage with a 72" rotary cutter...sound about right?
And you want to do some "heavy" lifting? How "heavy" is heavy? Less then 1000 lbs? Does this mean you want a loader, or are you going to carry the load on the 3PH?

For $18K (including the cutter?), you'll probably have to buy used. For the work you described, I'd suggest a Deere 4300 or equivalent (25-35 PTO HP). If you go with a CUT (such as the 4300) you'll probably want 4WD.
You could also go for a full sized tractor since you're buying used.

/ Newbie asking for opinions #4  
I gotta back Roy. He is right. A Deere 4300 would be the best one to mow 25 acres of pasture.