Backhoe With Cab?

/ Backhoe With Cab? #1  

HenRut

Bronze Member
Tractor
2015 TYM T1003C
I'm a tractor newbie beginning my research for a 50hp class machine and I've got a basic question I know the knowledgeable greybeards on this great forum can quickly answer. Why do some dealers not recommend a backhoe with a cab tractor (assuming the BH is a dealer option for the machine)? Is it a matter of maneuverability or fit or comfort? My usage would probably be 10-25% BH but when I need it, there's no substitute. The machines I'm considering are Kubota L5740 HST Cab, Kioti DK55 Shuttle Cab or Mahindra 5035 HST (non cab). Finances may dictate me going cab-less, which I would probably regret next winter (I'm in New England) but I can't do without a BH. Any reason to be afraid of a BH behind a cab? Thanks in advance.

/ Backhoe With Cab? #2  
nothing to do with stability or maneuverability. It has to do with the fact that with the cab, you have to climb off the backhoe seat and walk around, climb into the cab and move the tractor to the next part of the trench, climb back out and climb onto the BH, etc etc.

My dealer told me he wouldn't recommend it either. I needed the cab WAY more than the BH.

On larger commercial cab backhoes, the driver seat swivels so you can use the hoe. not so with the CT hoes (least none that i have seen).

On a personal note: for the times i need a hoe...i rent a mini excavator. will outperform any backhoe. I'm an electrician, do alot of underground work and the minis have outperformed every standard backhoe Ive ever rented. But to each their own. if you have a great need to own one..go for it.

But for me, when I'm in my toasty warm cab during an Idaho winter storm....ill think about all the guys with their hoes LOL:laughing: :laughing: :licking:

/ Backhoe With Cab?