Buying Advice Howdy, new to the forum and new to tractors

/ Howdy, new to the forum and new to tractors #1  

dan daly

Well, we just bought an old fixer upper of a farm house that sits on 22.5 acres. I've never owned anything more then .5 acres before and neither my wife or I are farmers by trade. I mow my current yard (at the house we're moving from) with a manual push reel mower! That's not going to cut it at the new place :)

About 1/3 of the property is woods, so that leaves roughly 14 that is cleared. Of that much of it was farmed for corn last year, and I'm not worried about it at the moment. What I am worried about right now is mowing the area around the house, to keep it looking civilized. Like it says in the thread title, I'm new to tractors, and trying to figure out what to get. Obviously don't want to spend money on something I don't need, but also don't want to spend money on junk and have to replace it anyway.

Here's what I'm looking to do:

1. Mow grass-mandatory
2. Plow snow-mandatory(we have a fairly short gravel driveway up to the house. House is pretty near the road with pretty much all the property back behind it. Woods in the far back)
3. Attach other implements for farming- plow, etc. We're interested in growing more and more of our own food, have done some gardening in the past, and now we have the space to do whatever we want. Since I'm really working on the house, now this isn't a top concern at the moment, but being able to do these things with the tractor I get now would be nice.

The property sits on a hill side- bottom of the hill at the road, top of the hill at the rear of my property in the woods.

So right now I'm not sure where what I need falls on the spectrum of riding mower-lawn tractor-garden tractor-farm tractor.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

A few I found on craiglist near me are:

1990 John Deere 318 with 46" mower deck, 54" snow blade, rear wheel chains, rear wheel weights- asking $3500