Newbie needs advice, please!

/ Newbie needs advice, please! #1  

MountainMomma

Bronze Member
Tractor
None yet
Hey there,

We just bought 40 acres that has been neglected for 30 years. Has hundreds of large multiflora rose bushes growing on it, two ponds that need dredging, and some grading work.

Two real questions:

1. How do you guys remove mature multiflora rose bushes? Please, be detailed and don't use a lot of acronyms... I'm just learning the jargon!

2. What is a good, used, general purpose tractor for us to buy that will do gentle hills (this is a WV farm with some steep places, mostly open and gently rolling, though). We need it to be able to mow, initially, and we have neighbors with BIG heavy tractors that we can hire for really big jobs. For the most part, we want to pull rose bushes, plow snow, lift rocks for building rock walls (we have PILES of limestone rocks to use) and mowing/bushwacking. Our budget is 15K max.

Someone recommended a Montana tractor that they like, 'cause it has a lower center of gravity. Did I read somewhere that Montana is going out of business, though?

Please suggest several brands/models 'cause I'm going to look at some starting tomorrow and would love to have a few starting places with dealers.

This is a homestead to be, not a working farm. My husband and I aren't particularly handy or mechanical, and we will be weekend warriors for the next year until we can move onto the land. All that to say please don't think "ultimate;" rather think "approachable for two newbies."

THANKS in advance for advice!

/ Newbie needs advice, please! #2  
$15K budget, not handy mechanically and you're looking at used tractors---

You need to think about how you'd get service/repairs done on a used tractor if you can't do that kind of work yourself. Buy used off a dealers lot is one way to go. Or find a tractor repair shop to handle the work.

Something like a 5-10-year-old 45 hp Kubota L4400 with FEL could be squeezed into your budget.