help in choosing a tractor upgrade

/ help in choosing a tractor upgrade #1  

Anonymous Poster

I currently own 80 acres that is half wooded and the other half hilly. In the past it was used for pasture and haying, but I have decided to enroll about 25 acres in the Wildlife Incentive Program, by planting native grasses and wildflowers along with food plots. I currently own a Ford 8N with 5ft bush hog, finish mower and grader blade. I will need to disc the food plots and use a no till drill for the seeding on the native grasses. I would also like to consider the purchase of a FEL in the future. I would like to puchase either a new or used tractor with ROPS and canopy and would like to keep the purchase price around the $10,000 mark if possible. Would it be advisable for a 4 wheel drive unit considering the lay of my land? What amount of horsepower would be advisable? My farm is located in southern Indiana. Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I am new at this and would like to get your valued advice. /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

/ help in choosing a tractor upgrade #2  
prairiegrass,

Your question(s) may start the "4wd vs 2wd" and "Gear vs Hydrostat transmission" discussions again. Here is my 2-cents worth.

The 4wd option is indeed something I believe that is needed (or at least highly desired) on any hilly terrain because of the increased safety that it affords.

I'm assuming that you want to keep using the 5-foot rotary mower. I beleive that most people recommend a minimum 30hp to operate a 5-foot rotary mower. I think that it will be hard to find a really good 4wd tractor that is big enough to handle a 5' rotary mower and still be under $10,000. And if you did find one, it probably wouldn't be long before you would be wanting to upgrade.