Need Advice

/ Need Advice #1  

Anonymous Poster

Hello!

I could use some advice on what tractor I should buy. I don't really know anything about them, other than I need one! :)

Really, I am new to this whole country side of life - I'd never even driven a tractor until I moved here! But, after spending all of last summer renting tractors to move dirt around, and trying to mow 11 acres with a riding lawn mower, I decided its time to get my own.

The land has no steep cliffs, but not entirely flat. Most of it is planted in coastal hay, but since I have horses on it, I am not worried about baling it. I just want to mow it. I'll want to be able to drag my round pen and grade my road base drive. I might put up some cross fences, so I might want an auger, but I am not sure. What are the best options for my money?

I am on a tight budget, and I don't want the salesperson to see a woman walk in and think 'sucker!' And, since I don't know jack about it, I don't want to pay too much for something I don't need.

So...any suggestions/advice?

Thanks!! :)

/ Need Advice #2  
Welcome Silversage. My suggestion is that you spend some time looking through the other members posts. There is no way anyone can give you advice until you determine what it is you invision using the tractor for. It might be wise to take some time and read the post to educate yourself and then you can ask more specific, educated questions. There are alot of folks on this board that are willing to help you, but you will need to try to help youself first. At any rate, low budget generally means you will need to stay away from the major brands depending on what size tractor you need. Try looking through the posts on the "Other Brands" section. Good luck.

/ Need Advice #3  
What is your budget? This will help us know what tractor will fill your needs. Is it less then $5 K or less then 30K???