first time buyer

/ first time buyer #1  

Anonymous Poster

I am new to country living, and while my post is similar to many others, the advice I need may be different. I purchased 20 acres in south/central KY with 6 acres of weeds which I one day hope to convert to pasture. The remaining 14 in wooded . The 6 acres are flat. They will need to be tilled, seeded, fenced and maintained. In addition I have a one acre yard. Down the road I plan to dig out a pond area in the pasture and dig a basement for a future home. So I would like a tractor that is adequate for these needs. I don't mind buying used, because I have a budget for the tractor of around $5000. Any suggestions?

Also, I need something dependable, as I am severely mechanically uninclined!!

Thanks.

/ first time buyer #2  
My first suggestion is to seriously consider paying a contractor to dig your basement and pond. Unless they are both VERY small, they are big jobs for a compact tractor. Not to say it can't be done, but it's an awful lot of time and wear & tear on you and your tractor. Someone with a dozer or excavator could make short work of these jobs. Alternatively, if you know how to use them, you may be able to rent this larger equipment for the big jobs.

For the other jobs, you are probably looking at a 25 to 40 HP tractor (bigger = less time to get the jobs done, but more expensive. THe smaller end of the range will still do the jobs, it just takes more time).

Frame size can be important too. I went with a smaller frame & horsepower than I might have liked for my mowing and landscaping needs, mainly because I wanted something that would more easily fit down the trails in my woods. It takes me longer to get my mowing done, and I've got to take smaller bites with my boxblade, but I'm happy with my choice.

If your budgeted includes buying a backhoe and other implements, you will be hard pressed to stay under the $5000 you mentioned.

John Mc

/ first time buyer #3