why trade so much

/ why trade so much #1  

bigbull338

Elite Member
Tractor
7040 HDC 1153 fel
i guess im an old farmer that dont beleive in trading tractors every few years.i live by you buy tractors an equipment when you have to.so i was wondering why every1 trades tractors every 5yrs or so.is it because you can have new write offs every 5yrs.

/ why trade so much #2  
I guess it depend a lot on what type of tractor as well as how many hours you put on and what you do.

We tend to keep our tractors for quite a while, but we don't depend on them for our living and don't put a lot of hours on them. I also tend to get attached to them. Our grand kids will still be using our M8540 long after we are gone. Our 5030 is eight years old and I may replace it some day, but we still use tractors made in the 50's, 60's and 80's on one farm.

The family that farms our land use to keep their tractors until they wore completely out, but now trade every few years as a break down during harvest or spring planting can be really costly due to delays in getting a repair truck out into the field. Now they still keep their utility tractors a long time, just not the ones they use for production.

Some people just like new things and tractors are a hobby for them, so I can see why some trade, but I suspect some look at tractors the same as cars and trucks and really don't appreciate how long they can last.

My brother has never owned a new tractor in his life and probably never will.

Now mind you, I may buy an additional tractor.:laughing:

/ why trade so much #3  
Most of the guys here are not farmers. They'll trade off their tractors like they would a truck, a boat or motorcycle. It's no big deal.

Back when a guy bought a little Farmall to work his tobacco patch, his needs didn't change for 20 years and there was no point in changing. We ran this Massy in our produce fields for 25 years. There was no reason to make a change.

It's a new day.

/ why trade so much