What Size Tractor For 10-12 Foot Bush Hog

/ What Size Tractor For 10-12 Foot Bush Hog #1  

jamesehatcher

Tractor
jamesehatcher@yahoo.com
Hey Everyone,

First to admit I am a newbie and in over my head. I have recently come become a managing partner in a large farm in North Ga. The farm is 550 Acres and has about 250-300 Acres in fields (mostly open with scattered planted pines).

I have experience in land development (oh the good ole days) but little experience with farming equipment.

Our main concern is cutting the open areas to keep the place looking nice to protect its value. Heres a video tour of the farm on youtube.....its quite a place: Far Winds Video - YouTube

I love an older Deutz because its aircooled and fuel efficient. I found a DX 3.50 with low hours and a DX 110. The 3.50 is a 61HP tractor and the 110 is a 102HP according to tractordata.com

Whats everyones input...Open to other tractor ideas. I would prefer the DX3.50 as its a better deal, but I need it to be able to pull a 10' bush hog and or a 12' flex wing. Do they make a larger size flail mower and would that be an option?

Thanks for all your help.....probably the first of many questions.

Last edited:
   / What Size Tractor For 10-12 Foot Bush Hog #2  
if you went with the DX110,you have about 90pto hp wich would pull a 12fy an a 15ft batwing shredder with ease.the 12ft shredder would lugg the 60hp down pretty good.

/ What Size Tractor For 10-12 Foot Bush Hog #3  
I would think a 61 hp tractor would have no problem with a 10 foot and be able to handle a 12.

/ What Size Tractor For 10-12 Foot Bush Hog #4  
If you are mowing 250-300 acres, get a 15' batwing and the 102 hp tractor. That is a lot of mowing. A 10' mower will take forever. If it was me and that many acres, I would go 15-20' batwing and the bigger tractor.