Buying Advice Do I go NEW offbrand or used name brand?

/ Do I go NEW offbrand or used name brand? #1  

Illinoisdmax

Bronze Member
Tractor
International 504
Looking for a good utility/AG tractor to start my hay operation, with potential to expand into grain crops eventually. I'm in the market for a new tractor. Just wondering what everyones opinion is on the smaller brands like Mahindra. I've been lookin into JD 5420, as i have a lot of experience running this machine. The bottom line i can find one for is pretty much 27k, and then i got to thinkin, a brand new Mahindra 8560 is only about 10k more then that and then you have all the nice warranty's and what not. Ive just honestly never dealt with the brand. Just wondering if it'd be a better idea to go new or get a good used. I live in the middle of Deere country and have 3 JD dealers within 20 miles of me. I also have a McCormick dealer 5 miles away that was a previous Deere dealer. Mahindra dealer is 30 miles away. Im not biased really to any brands right now but have all my experience on IH and JD.

/ Do I go NEW offbrand or used name brand? #2  
We just bought a new Mahindra 4035, going largely off the recommendation of a friend who has owned a Mahindra 5500 for 8 years. He has been very pleased with it. Ours only has 7 hours on it so far, so I can't really say either way from personal experience, but we looked at several different brands, and the Mahindra was heavier and lifted more than any of the others.

/ Do I go NEW offbrand or used name brand?
Maybe I should take a trip to the dealer and just see what kind of vibe I get. Most of the Deere dealers around here are very snoody. If you're not buyin a brand need combine from em every year then they don't wanna help ya.

/ Do I go NEW offbrand or used name brand? #5  
Illinoisdmax,