Tractor for 4 acre farm

/ Tractor for 4 acre farm #1  

Jfroche

I have recently bought an old farm with 4acres of land.

I have very little knowledge of tractors and would like advice on a suitable tractor to buy. Have been looking online and spoken to friends who have suggested I look at kubota.

Tractor will be used mainly to mow grass but also for other general work
Will be looking at second hand market and have limited budget.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

/ Tractor for 4 acre farm #2  
If mowing is the primary use, the BX is tough to beat, a nice used TLB with deck can usually be found in the 9-12k range in the North East

/ Tractor for 4 acre farm #3  
How about some more information ?

Location - state - county etc?
Snow Removal - tilling a garden - building walls - moving rocks ?
Lot Topography - hilly - flat - wet - ledge?
Goals/needs/more important "wants"?
Budget ? $10K $5K ?

Kubota ranges from lawn tractor to 100 HP farm tractor, and there are many units that can work for 4 acres, but if Kobota a BX23 with backhoe and mower can be found used for $12K range or if just a mower and a loader (FEL) maybe $8-9K

/ Tractor for 4 acre farm #4  
4 acres? Look at a Craftsman.

/ Tractor for 4 acre farm #7  
Kubota BX 25, I have 4-5 acres around the house that it has been a real workhorse for. Lot of implements for a 3PT hitch. I put 300 hours on last year doing lots of various jobs. Once you have the BH you will find lots of uses, even ballast aginst the FEL. I considred a mid mount mower but decided my landscaping has too many tight corners to do effeciently and I have a good craftsman rider. Brush mower was a god send for the fringe bramble/blackberry patches.

Limited resources forced me to buy new. Financing a used one is dicey and much higher interest rate and shoter terms. All the compact tractors now have $0 down, $0 interest for five years. Tractor and implements ($24K) is just over $400/mo.