Tractor Sizing I am short...

/ I am short... #1  

goosegbf

Hey folks,

I am a tractor newbie. My wife and I recently purchased 17 completely wooded acres in upstate New York. I cleared the lot (without a tractor) where the house is located (~1 acre), we had a house built, and we now are onto the taking care of everything tasks. Hence, the tractor search has commenced in earnest.

So, based on local dealers I am looking at primarily Kioti and Kubota (New Holland is also an option). I drove a Kioti CK35 and a DK40SE this morning and I learned something that I thought I already new. I am short. In this case short means 5'7". When I drove the CK35 I didn't move the seat fully, but I could definitely drive the tractor comfortably, including practice for turning around to snow throw (700' gravel driveway). When I drove the DK40SE however, I had the seat weight all the way dialed down and the seat as low and as far forward as it would go and I still could not comfortably reach the forward/reverse pedals. I had to sit half way forward on the seat. Is this what I can expect if I go up to the DK or grand L size? This seems a tad ridiculous. My wife is only 5'2" and she would also like to be able to drive the tractor.

Anybody have similar experience? Is there a cure other than the rack for us (or blocks ALA Short Round in Indiana Jones)? I am planning on driving the Kubota next weekend.

Thanks for any comments

/ I am short... #2  
Welcome to TBN, I wonder if the tractor was all the way forward on the seat holes?

/ I am short... #3  
Upstate NY and no Massey Dealers nearby...........well I'll be, that's a shocker.

I'm a truck driver and 80% of the tractors I see in upstate NY are Massey's.

Anyway.........Work the seat adjustments on any tractor you look at. If in doubt, get the mechanic out there to help. The salesman may be able to help, but the guy that works on 'em will help more.

/ I am short... #4