Ford 861

/ Ford 861 #1  

Ford861

Tractor
1958 Ford 861
Hi all. My first post here, I've done numerous searches here over the last year as I've been trying to find my first tractor, but never registered till now......this is a great place to get answers.
Anyway, I grew up on a farm. I was the "Cole Trickle" (Days of Thunder) of farming. They told me to get on the tractor and drive, and I could drive. But I was never really required to fix anything, that was my Dad's job. Needless to say I am not a mechanic, but am not scared to dive into something either (with a little help). I moved on to a life other than farming when I was about 23 years old and have been in construction ever since.
After a long and extensive search, I have finally bought my first tractor. A 1958 Ford 861 gas. My budget was limited so the nice and shiney tractors with no leaks and enough HP to pull the 6-8' implements were out. I found the 861 with a Ford loader, bucket, bale spear, and box blade for $2k. I really have no need for the loader and am thinking of taking it off and selling it. Since it's old most of the hoses are cracked and leaking hyd fluid, I hate leaks. Will I regret not having a loader, and how much could I get for it? I am thinking $500-$600? It also does not have PS so the loader, especially with a load makes turning a workout.