Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tractor
    Kubota MX5100

Default Help needed fist time tractor purchase

I have finally decided it time to buy a tractor and I'm looking for some assistance on what I will actually need (HP, 2 or 4WD, tires) and any other advice, as I'm new to this. This tractor will be used for:
    - Brush hogging about 20-25 acres
    - Putting in food plots,
    - Other general maintenance and projects
    - The land is mostly slopped and is located in the Catskill Area in NY
    Looking at new tractors as financing options look good.

Tractor
    Kioti DK 35 now

Default Re: Help needed fist time tractor purchase

welcome to TBN!

If it where me, I would look at 35hp to 50hp, go as big as you can and still get the "bells and whistles" you want. 35hp would probably do it though.

Go 4x4 if you can, especially at 35hp and under. Comes in handy all the time, and for you living in the North, you'll be in some snow and mud at times. Also will help with resell, if that ever happens.

Tires, thats almost specific for what you likely will do. full time farming and ranching, I would want the full Ag tire, for working a small "spread" like I do now, I prefer the Industrial tire, kinda between the Ag tire and the Turf tire. Ag tire is the most "aggressive" tire.

You'll also want to consider a FEL (Font End Loader). You don't know how handy they are until you have one.

AgriCredit usually has some awesome rates, last time I used them I got 1.8%. At that rate I went ahead a got a few implements I knew I needed.

Pay's to shop around for dealers offering "package deals" And many will offer deals if you buy the Tractor and a few implements.
    Dennis

"Winter 2013 a majority of the country is setting new cold records, Colorado is setting new record HIGH's"

"If at first you don't succeed, skydiving is not for you."

Platinum Member
    Tractor
    kubota b3200: kubota b7800: kubota rtv900