Tractor Sizing What size tractor do i need?

/ What size tractor do i need? #1  

Anonymous Poster

Ok this is my first post and I am new to this tractor stuff. I went out looking for a lawn mower but saw the sub-compact tractors and felt it would be money better spent. I just do not want to get to much tractor. I have thought about what I would use the tractor for and here is the list:

1. Mowing 85% of the time (2 acres with some trees and the lot is somewhat sloped.)
2. Tilling small garden (around 1/4 acre)
3. Yard finishing (I am in the construction business and I put most of the yards in, 5-6 a year, however I already have a skid steer so FEL capacity is not a real issue as I would only use it for transporting mulch. I would however use a rake for finishing)
4. Mowing lots I have for sale (these are mostly level and cleared, just need to knock light brush off)
5. As to what the future holds I am not sure, but I don’t want this to become a business tractor, I will be purchasing it for use mainly around the house.

I have narrowed my search down to three tractors. I have driven them all and have no favorites they all have good and bad to them. From what I have seen on this forum and after pricing at local dealers here is what I have found:

A. BX1500 +FEL +54”mmm, around $9600.00
B. BX2200 +FEL +60”mmm, around $11,500.00
C. JD 2210 +FEL +62”mmm, around $12,200.00

I also think that I will need a 4’ Box Blade, 4’ Rotary Cuter and around a 40” Tiller. My biggest problem is that I only have 12.5K to spend. So the question finally, should I buy the BX1500 with all implements, the BX2200 with some implements, or the JD 2210 with no additional implements?

I think I have covered what I know, so any input would be nice. I will say I am leaning toward the BX1500 with implements but still unsure. Lastly I have found two dealers for each Kubota and John Deere that I liked so that is not a problem.

Thanks
Ryan

/ What size tractor do i need? #2