My 8n is too small...so is my pocketbook..

/ My 8n is too small...so is my pocketbook.. #1  

neumanda

Tractor
Kubota B3300 SU
Hello Tractorsbynet folks,

I am new to tractors and hobby farming. I have 32 acres of which 7 acres will be utilized for a small hobby orchard. I purchased a 1949 Ford 8n with the intention of utilizing the backblade for snow removal and the brush hog for maintaining the grass under and around my trees.

The long and short of it is, this tractor does not have enough power to navigate my hills and pull the brush hog. The steering makes it very poor for snow removal and I'm in a bit of a quandary. After suffering through a year of the 8n I have come to these forums with a greater understanding of my needs, but no greater pocketbook.

I can reasonably afford a tractor in the 5-7k range.

1) Needs to pull a brush hog up moderate hills.
2) Better steering
3) I would like a granny low so that I could pull a tiller for my garden.
4) A bucket would be nice, but I might be dreaming.
5) A safer PTO system, not being able to shut off that PTO feel dangerous with my little kids around.
6) Reliability, unlike many posters I am not incredibly mechanical though I am getting better.

A Ford 3000 or 4000 looks to me like a good option, but I feel as though I made an poor choice the first time around and would like feedback.

Hopefully I put this in the right forum. Thank you for your time and opinions.

/ My 8n is too small...so is my pocketbook.. #2  
Start looking at tractors made in the late 50's and newer. For instance, my old Case 311 has 12 forward gears and 35 hp. It also has a hand clutch to disengage the engine while letting the PTO operate. No 4wd and attaching a bucket would make it really tough to steer, but tractors of that vintage cover the rest of your needs and are priced less than $3,000 in most areas.

You might be able to move snow with rear chains and a back blade...compromises, adaptability, etc.