Buying Advice Newbie TBN looking for advice on 4x4 tractor

/ Newbie TBN looking for advice on 4x4 tractor #1  

Eric67ct

Bronze Member
Tractor
1983 John Deere 212, 1988 John Deere 1050
Hi,
I am new to TBN and I need some expert advice on what I am looking for under 10K. Please give me the make, model, years and any other pertinent info. Here is what I am looking to do:

-Dig property to remove rock (we have a lot of ledge in my part of the state)
-Lift logs (upwards of 500+ lbs) for firewood
-Assist with tree support while falling trees
-Smooth out property and lay out topsoil
-Clear heavy thorny brush and clear out brush on an occasional basis
-I have a BIG TEX 35SA single axle landscape trailer, so I will need to be able to transport the tractor as well (max weight capacity is 3K lbs)

Wish List
-has to be 4x4 (I live in rural CT where terrain can be unforgiving)
-PTO (I would like to get a brush cutting attachment down the road;log splitter; chipper)
-must come with loader (lift around 1500 lbs) and backhoe
-preferably 25+ HP diesel
-I know it will be an older model, but I'd like a reliable brand.

I've also entertained interest in the Bobcat/Case skid-steers. They seem to be decent in price, but I am not sure if that's something you'd all recommend.

If you need more information, please let me know.

Thanks,
Eric

Last edited:
   / Newbie TBN looking for advice on 4x4 tractor #2  
It's going to be hard to find a 25HP diesel under 10k with a loader that is in good shape. You might have luck on Craigslist or some other site.

/ Newbie TBN looking for advice on 4x4 tractor
What about a BobCat? I see quite a few Case and Bobcats on CL. Some asking around 10K and some are less. I know they're pretty versatile for attachments too.

I just saw this ad. Too good to be true?