John Deere 1026R - used pricing

/ John Deere 1026R - used pricing #1  

Liammcd

Tractor
n/a
I'm looking at a lightly used JD 1026R with 60" mower and loader. The machine has 36 hours on it and the dealer is offering about 8 percent off their standard price for an all new machine. Standard warranty is also transferred. I'm new to sub-compact tractors (stepping up from basic mowers to do more landscaping work) and unsure what normal depreciation would be for a 'used' machine - though just barely really. What does everyone think of this offer? Take the used deal (equates to about $1500 saved), expect more of a discount, or stick with all new? Thanks!

/ John Deere 1026R - used pricing #2  
I'm looking at a lightly used JD 1026R with 60" mower and loader. The machine has 36 hours on it and the dealer is offering about 8 percent off their standard price for an all new machine. Standard warranty is also transferred. I'm new to sub-compact tractors (stepping up from basic mowers to do more landscaping work) and unsure what normal depreciation would be for a 'used' machine - though just barely really. What does everyone think of this offer? Take the used deal (equates to about $1500 saved), expect more of a discount, or stick with all new? Thanks!

I know deals range by region but if they are giving 8% off new current list for a used machine I would go with new as my dealer is in the 13-15% off on new units. As I said your area might be different.

/ John Deere 1026R - used pricing #3  
Wouldn't be enough off for me. Do you mean 8% off of list or 8% off of what they sell for at about 15% off which would make it 23% off list? The latter makes the deal seem a little sweeter, but for 36 hours on a tractor I'd want to know why someone was getting rid of it. Not time to trade up already. If they found out they needed/wanted something else, your gain, but if it was a problematic tractor, well now it's your problem. I would take the $1500 insurance and buy new.