Kubota B8200
THE SHORT:
► Farmall 140 - 1960's
► From family friend, recently widowed
► Not currently starting
► Been sitting for 10 years in a barn
► How do I value it?

THE LONG:
I need some advise. I just purchased 7 acres and I'm in the process of creating a farmette. I'm a teacher so I have 2.5 months off a year and pretty short days so my dream is to supplement my income, or lack there of, with my hobby farm. I'm at that point where the riding mower is not able to handle the property as I reclaim parts that have been overgrown for 5+ years.

An old family friend's husband recently passed away and she has two tractors that have been sitting in her barn for at least 10 years. I am interested in the Farmall 140. I believe the serial number has it made sometime in the 1960's. I need to double check.

Ebay currently has one in working condition for $3400.

What do I need to do to value this tractor correctly and not rip off a family friend who is in need of some money at the same time not buy a total money pit of a tractor. What usually needs to go into a tractor that has been sitting for a decade? The only reason they stopped using it is because they stopped farming the land.

The tractor has been barn kept and from my total non-tractor background it looks good (not a lot of rust, pieces falling off, etc.). It's not currently starting so I will need to get someone out there to troubleshoot it eventually.

Any advice would be appreciated.

/ Buying from widowed family friend - Farmall 140 - 1960's #2  
   / Buying from widowed family friend - Farmall 140 - 1960's #3