Buying Advice Skid steer -vs- Compact Tractor

/ Skid steer -vs- Compact Tractor #1  

freddymac63

I'm a tractor novice looking for advice on the best suited machine for my application, skid steer or compact tractor. I have a fair sized timber tract that requires the following work:
  • clearing property lines of timber & brush. Dirt work required for fencing
  • Install fence
  • mowing firebreaks
  • improving old pond, constructing new pond
  • improving roads, installing ditches and water bars
  • piling up timber slash
I estimate it will take me 50 years to accomplish all this so I need something that will last also!

/ Skid steer -vs- Compact Tractor #2  
Skid steers are cool, fun and expensive much more than a compact! I like a compact others will disagree!

/ Skid steer -vs- Compact Tractor #3  
I would go with the compact. More tools to work with and get the job done, and cost lest.

/ Skid steer -vs- Compact Tractor #4  
I'm a tractor novice looking for advice on the best suited machine for my application, skid steer or compact tractor. I have a fair sized timber tract that requires the following work:
  • clearing property lines of timber & brush. Dirt work required for fencing
  • Install fence
  • mowing firebreaks
  • improving old pond, constructing new pond
  • improving roads, installing ditches and water bars
  • piling up timber slash
I estimate it will take me 50 years to accomplish all this so I need something that will last also!