Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Skid steer -vs- Compact Tractor

I'm a tractor novice looking for advice on the best suited machine for my application, skid steer or compact tractor. I have a fair sized timber tract that requires the following work:
    • clearing property lines of timber & brush. Dirt work required for fencing
    • Install fence
    • mowing firebreaks
    • improving old pond, constructing new pond
    • improving roads, installing ditches and water bars
    • piling up timber slash

I estimate it will take me 50 years to accomplish all this so I need something that will last also!

Veteran Member
    Tractor
    Montana R4944, Ford Jubilee, Ford 621, Ford 841

Default Re: Skid steer -vs- Compact Tractor

Skid steers are cool, fun and expensive much more than a compact! I like a compact others will disagree!
    Montana R4944
    Ford Jubliee, Ford 841, Ford 621 industrial with FEL & BH

Tractor
    MF 285 Long 560 MF2670 CX100

I would go with the compact. More tools to work with and get the job done, and cost lest.
    I can fix anything from a broken heart to the crack of dawn.

Gold Member
    Tractor
    2011 KUBOTA L3200 W/ LOADER, BH77 BACKHOE

Quote Originally Posted by freddymac63 View Post
    I'm a tractor novice looking for advice on the best suited machine for my application, skid steer or compact tractor. I have a fair sized timber tract that requires the following work:
    • clearing property lines of timber & brush. Dirt work required for fencing
    • Install fence
    • mowing firebreaks
    • improving old pond, constructing new pond
    • improving roads, installing ditches and water bars
    • piling up timber slash

I estimate it will take me 50 years to accomplish all this so I need something that will last also!