Tractor Sizing John Deere 1026R or 2520 for acreage

/ John Deere 1026R or 2520 for acreage #1  

ZBoogie

Tractor
Looking
I am new to the world of tractors and have a delemma of purchsing a JD 1026R or going for the bigger 2520. I live in Virginia and have six cleared acres. Ten trees on the property. I have a 50 foot incline at maybe a 10% slope along with a couple of gullys with a bit steeper slope. I have the property bush hogged twice a year - so it can be a bit thick/unkept at times with 1 to 2" diameter stalks. I will fine cut three or four acres and rough cut the other two acres. I will either use the MMM or a rear end rotary. I will use a FEL for snow, moving mulch/soil and maybe some gravel for the driveway. I will have a small garden and at some point - may plant and take down a few trees. Any suggestions on which way to go will be appreciated. I've heard many say the 1026R mows better and is an awesome tractor and others say go bigger because it can do more. I'm getting ready to retire and really do not plan to do too much landscaping or heavy work - but you never know.

/ John Deere 1026R or 2520 for acreage #2  
I'd go with the 2520. Don't buy too small and regret it. But, I don't think either are ideal for finish mowing. The X700 series is the best for finish mowing and snow. However, if I were you I'd set up the 2520 for bush hogging and look for a good used 425/445/455 to do the finish mowing, especially on slopes. This way you get the best mower (even if older), and a real tractor for real tractor work. I like the 2520 pretty good, but there are better tractors in that class for way less money (NH, Kubota, Kioti, Bobcat, LS). Have you look at the 3038E?

/ John Deere 1026R or 2520 for acreage #3  
:welcome: to the forum.