Newbie buying 4115-ish tractor... seeking advice!

/ Newbie buying 4115-ish tractor... seeking advice! #1  

Nathan_OR

Bronze Member
Hi folks,

I'm a real tractor newbie. I've been renting a Ford 8N for pasture mowing and a little blade work, and I'm ready to buy a tractor for field mowing, garden tilling, a little excavating (landscaping), post holes, and digging out stumps/rocks. I want a CUT with Hydro so my wife can use the loader to move llama beans.

I'm thinking I ought to go Deere because all five of my neighbors drive John Deere, so I'm hoping that they can help me out with mechanical problems. I can do light engine work, but hydraulics and drivetrain I have no experience with, so I'm thinking I might need to rely on them for help. Does this seem like a good reason to go John Deere?

The local John Deere dealer has a pretty decent sales staff as far as knowledge, although I did have to ask all the questions. My concern is that I bought a JE-75 walk-behind mower from them in the past and their service department had it in seven times without figuring out why it kept dying. Not only that but they weren't willing to take it back on a John Deere Promise return. They did sell it for me on consignment without taking any of the price for themselves though. I'm not sure whether to rate this as a "bad experience"... would an experience like this make you folks leery about buying a CUT from the same JD Dealer?

I also don't know where to begin on price. With cars, it's easy: I start at invoice plus a little depending on demand for the car, and work up. Right now I'm looking at the following quotes (all Hydro):
JD 4110 w/ 410 FEL: $15,450, -$600 manuf. rebate
JD 4115 w/ 410 FEL: $17,400, -$800 manuf. rebate
JD 4210 w/ 420 FEL: $18,895, -$1000 manuf. rebate
Do these seem reasonable to those of you who know the Oregon market?