Ford 1920 comparables

/ Ford 1920 comparables #1  

cmcgalla

Tractor
1956 Minn. Moline 445
Howdy! What a great place TBN is! I have been reading some of the posts and they are great. I have learned much! I need a new tractor for the farm, we rasie dairy goats and getting Dexters in the spring. I will be moving round bales (800-1200 lbs.) a short distance for the goats and cows, brush hogging a little here and there, getting firewood, moving dirt and other stuff. I will use the back blade for the driveway in the winter. I am also not opposed to using the 3 pt. hitch with a spike for the hay, so as to limit the stress on the axles. I am not a total novice, but many of you have WAY more knowledge than me.

I like the size of the Ford 1920, looks like a good size that I can squeeze in the barn if needed, but big enough to handle a round bail, I think. My question is what other tractors are of similar size. Better yet what is the smallest tractor I can buy that can handle those bales? Seems that a B series Kubota would be great, but when you thrown in 1000 pound hay bale seems like the game changes and people want me to get an M series!

I considered a Yanmar 330D, but was concerned about stress on the front axles.

I am dead seat on: USED, diesel, 4wd, FEL as far as transmission I am not big fan of HST, but not a deal breaker.

Thanks in advance
Zeek

/ Ford 1920 comparables #2  
I have a 1920 which I bought new in 1988! Only put on less than a 100 hours a year. Good reliable,trouble free tractor. Only problem, which is characteristic of that era, is rust out of rear fenders and rims; had to have them replaced after 15-18 years, tractors should last longer than that!

Also had to replace the starter this year; certain years had different starters at various prices, NH dealer for mine was $900. You would be wise to either have a local starter shop available or check the starter model no. a head of time.

/ Ford 1920 comparables