Eagle Creek, Oregon

/ Eagle Creek, Oregon #1  

NWOutlawMX

Bronze Member
Tractor
2013 John Deere 3038e, International TD8E, Kobelco SK120, 2007 Case JX1090U, 86 International Dumptruck
Greetings,

I just purchased 80acres in Eagle Creek, Oregon. I'm a commercial fisherman by trade. The house is a teardown that I am planning to replace in a couple years so for now I intend to use it as recreational. It hasn't been maintained and is overrun with blackberry bushes. So my first projects are to clear those and fence off about a mile. Then I will disc up and reseed aprx 30 acres for hay. Those are my first priority's but I also plan on putting in a motocross track and a pond for hunting. I will need a tractor for the fence and haying operation first. I want to stick with a used gas because I will do all maintenance myself and have the ability to rebuild an engine if needed. 50 acres is flat to gentle slope but the other 30 is moderately to extremely sloped. Most of the 30 I won't be using the tractor on but still would need a 4x4. For the haying part - round bales or square, I have read round requires 70hp+ but would think it would be easier to put up by myself. The haying part won't happen until late next year or until 2014 but want to make sure my initial purchase of the tractor for the fence and clearing will be enough for the haying operation. One of my grandparents worked 40 acres of crops and the other side ran a dairy farm of about 240acres in MN and I helped them growing up so am familiar with most aspects of working a farm. For right now somewhere between 5-8,000 dollars but could go higher if needed. A lot of my google searches have brought me here so I figured I might as well join.

/ Eagle Creek, Oregon #2  
Greetings,