Buying Advice Looking for the best JD for 20 acres of property

/ Looking for the best JD for 20 acres of property #1  

gpierc

Tractor
John Deere
Hi:

I'd welcome any advice about picking the right JD for some property (20 acres) that I am in the process of purchasing. I'm going to build a house on the property and put up a pole barn. About 7 acres of the property is in grass and the rest is forest. The driveway is long (400 feet) and we get a LOT of snow here in Central New York. I figured I'd use a FEL to plow the snow and general jobs and get a back hoe as well. I'll need to get a mowing deck to mow the grass. I looked at a JD 2520 today and it seemed to be a good fit, but to be honest, I have little experience (but LOTS of interest in a new toy!).

Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Greg

/ Looking for the best JD for 20 acres of property #2  
Save yourself the aggravation and forget the mid-mount mower. The mower will constantly be in the way for other 'tractor work' and no matter how easy it seems to take on and off you'll often leave it on when you shouldn't. With that said, I think you should get an inexpensive riding mower for the grass around the house, then get a slightly larger tractor for the rest of the land. I'm not real up on the compact Deeres, but I think you'd want at least a 2720, and possibly even one of the smaller 3000 series.

/ Looking for the best JD for 20 acres of property
Thanks for the advice. I do use a JD 130 for the 1 acre of grass we currently have, so I could use that around the house at the new place. I'll look into the models that you suggested that I consider--thanks! Greg

/ Looking for the best JD for 20 acres of property #4  
I figured I'd use a FEL to plow the snow and general jobs and get a back hoe as well.

You'll do it once, then you'll look for another solution. you don't so much plow with a FEL you 'dig' the driveway out. You'll be much better served with a plow, or blower.