Tractor Sizing Tractor for 80 acre Ranch

/ Tractor for 80 acre Ranch #1  

jjswag

Tractor
None
I am new to TBN as of today. We just purchased an 80 acre ranch and I have been researching tractors. This will be my first tractor as well as land and I am now confused on what HP tractor to purchase. The property has 3 separate fenced light pastures with 5 acres of Homestead in one of the fenced areas. All of the property is flat with two of the pastures having roughly 100 pecan trees spaced out. I will be putting some cattle on it soon and horses in the future. All the dealers keep telling me I need at least 75HP, but I have been considering the 60+ range ie Kubota L5740 and JD 4720 each with a rhino TS12 batwing. I am also considering Case I-H 75C, JD 5083e, LS tractor P7010C, and Branson in the 70 HP range. The tractor will have a cab. The current owner does not produce hay on the property. He has it delivered. He keeps it all mowed with a 15' JD batwing. I will entertain the idea of producing my own hay in the future so I want to buy the right tractor now. Any opinions and guidance is much appreciated.

Thanks!

/ Tractor for 80 acre Ranch #2  
I think your dealers suggestion of 70 HP is pretty close.Hay production is going to dictate your sizeing.With a 70HP you are getting into an AG type tractor vs a CUT(compact utlity tractor) such as the L5740.Longer and wider and weighs more.

/ Tractor for 80 acre Ranch #3  
you need at least a m kubota or a 5000 deere. of the ones you listed the jd 5083 is the only one i would get.

/ Tractor for 80 acre Ranch #4