Buying Advice Newbie question.

/ Newbie question. #1  

manwithplan46151

Tractor
1979 550c
Hi, I am a new member to the forum, Im from Manchester Ky. I am looking to buy a dozer to move some dirt and trees from my property. Question is.... I have found a 1979 550c John Deere, Im going to check it out better today. It looks like a good dozer has root ripper on the blade, Seller is asking $14,500 for it, I am hoping to buy it for 13,000......Is it worth $14,000 if it is in good working order? Thx in advance for any and all replies. I have never owned one. I am familiar with heavy equipment, as I am a truck driver and haved hauled them....Thats the extent of my knowledge. I hope I can get some advice before 2pm today. Thx.

/ Newbie question. #2  
Welcome to the forum:welcome:

If all you have done is haul them then I recommend you hire a dozer mechanic to look at it for you. Well worth couple of hundred bucks to be better informed as to what kind of condition the tracks and undercarriage, engine, drivetrain and hydraulics are in. I have had a 450 and 850 dozers and the cost of repairs can be staggering. Not trying to scare you away from purchasing but you do wan't to know what to expect from the machine.

/ Newbie question. #3  
:welcome: and good luck.

/ Newbie question.
I passed on this particular dozer....Took a friend who operates...he knows more than me. He suggest the track adjuster was too close to the front of the rail. Said it was worn bad to be stretched that far. My hunt is still on. I need a dozer, I been paying alot of cash out to have work done $1000 at a time. I got alot of clearing to do still. I feel like it makes good sense to buy one and do my own work. Anyone in Ky or close states have any ideas of where to buy? Can I buy a fair shaped one for $10---$12,000? Thx

/ Newbie question. #6