Buying Advice Zero Turn Vs. Trail Mower 16 Acres

/ Zero Turn Vs. Trail Mower 16 Acres #1  

Pebblypo

Tractor
Looking?
I have 16 acres in which 6 acres willl be rented out to a farmer for corn, 8 is a fenced pature with goats on 3 acres and soon to be horses on theother 5. The remaining 2 is in and around the house with many trees and shrubs. I currently have a 4x4 ATV with a garden trailer, regular trailer and snow plow (Also have snow blower). The land is primarily flat with quite a few obstacles to go around (Play set, trampoline, fire pit, trees, etc..). I will be cutting a little over 3-4 acres on a weekly basis. This inculdes my 2 acres and the outside of the pasture fences and around the corn field. What do you recommend for cutting this amount of yard. Possible will need to cut the 5 acres for awhile until I get horses. Once I have horses not sure how often I should cut it. Appreciate any guidance you can give me. And of course I'm new to this farming stuff.

/ Zero Turn Vs. Trail Mower 16 Acres #2  
If you have lot of obstacles zero turn is hard to beat. Then you have to decide on a type. Front mounted or mid mounted. We have front mounted because we have hilly terrain. But I like it for another reason. You see what you are cutting and you can stick the deck under in example bushes. The trade off is that the mover is pretty long.

/ Zero Turn Vs. Trail Mower 16 Acres #3  
The Z would be ideal for your lawn. If you plan on mowing more, you have to consider how smooth it is, and the fact you will probably want a more commercial Z ($$$) for that amount of acreage, especially if it is rough.

Will

/ Zero Turn Vs. Trail Mower 16 Acres #4