Buying Advice 110TLB vs. backhoe for tractor

/ 110TLB vs. backhoe for tractor #1  

T Dew

Bronze Member
Tractor
John Deere
I need a backhoe, and I was thinking of adding the backhoe to a 5075M tractor. Now I have the option of buying a 110TLB with about 800 hours on it. The tractor will cost me about $5000 more than adding the backhoe to a 5075M, but I get another toy for that $5K. From the research I have done it seems everyone loves their 110TLB. Does anyone know how the 110TLB compares to the 595 backhoe when it comes to the digging capabilities and reach. I believe it can dig a little deeper, but I am not really planning on digging a 10' deep hole on the farm anytime soon. Is one of them stronger when it comes to removing heavy stones and plants that need to be uprooted? I'm a newbie when it comes to the dedicated backhoes, so any guidance on what I should do is appreciated. I do not know a lot about the specifics of the 110, but I am going to see it this weekend. Anything I should be looking for specifically that would be deal breakers? Other than anything obviously mechanically wrong. I meant lack of this, that, or the other thing. Thanks again for all the help!

/ 110TLB vs. backhoe for tractor #2  
I just got off my 110 this evening after laying 620' of 12" irrigation pipe and as always it did a great job with it. I feel after 8 years of use that it has served me very well.

AKfish has both a 5075M and a 110 so his opinion is the one I would seek in this case. I am sure you will hear from him soon. If the 110 you are considering is in decent shape I would give that the nod over the attachment. My reason for this is I prefer having a separate tractor for 3ph work and a tlb with the 3ph for backup. So my 110 and 4520 work well for me.

/ 110TLB vs. backhoe for tractor #3