Buying Advice Another first used tractor! And a first post! Woo Hoo Im a farmer now!

/ Another first used tractor! And a first post! Woo Hoo Im a farmer now! #1  

Oregonconversion

Tractor
Kubota B6000
Ok so im buying my first tractor and I will be using it for mostly moving dirt around, grooming, and getting my half acre ready to build a house on.

I am looking for something reliable that I can get parts for with ease and at a good price. is that a catch 22?

My question is.... Would I be better off getting a small 4X4 with 18-20HP like a Suzue, Kioti, or Yanmar...

or a 2WD mid 30-35HP like a massey Ferguson or Satoh Stallion?

I am looking with a budget of $4000-5000

/ Another first used tractor! And a first post! Woo Hoo Im a farmer now! #2  
This is rubbing the fur the wrong way here at TBN but for just a half acre you could just hire the earth moving work you need done then buy a nice rideing lawn mower and a walk behind tiller for the garden.
If you really want a tractor (doesn't everybody) you need to trade up to more land first. :welcome:

/ Another first used tractor! And a first post! Woo Hoo Im a farmer now! #3  
Tad over kill on hp considering half acre..some where 20hp should do the trick more models pick from w/your budget.

/ Another first used tractor! And a first post! Woo Hoo Im a farmer now! #4  
This is rubbing the fur the wrong way here at TBN but for just a half acre you could just hire the earth moving work you need done then buy a nice rideing lawn mower and a walk behind tiller for the garden.
If you really want a tractor (doesn't everybody) you need to trade up to more land first. :welcome:

x2!!!

/ Another first used tractor! And a first post! Woo Hoo Im a farmer now! #5  
I'm the same school of thought as 'vtsnowedin'; hire out or rent the needed equipment then buy a nice zero turn mower.

/ Another first used tractor! And a first post! Woo Hoo Im a farmer now! #6