So many choices to buy...

/ So many choices to buy... #1  

Zepaholic

Tractor
None yet
I have looked at Kubota & Mahindra. Both look to be alright, but what do I know I am new to this.
I have been reading a lot in these forums, y'all make good cases for tractors. I am a person that likes to buy a vehicle that will be with me forever. I HATE buying something then later after expanding the vehicle is no longer meets my demand.

I have 9 1/2 acres 6 are cleared. The others are woods. Looking at adding acreage in the near future. I will be making pens for my chickens. I want to make myself a garden. Enlarging the existing pond on my property and cutting grass.

Like all other newbies I ask for advice. What HP? 2WD or 4WD? Which transmission Shuttle or Standard? What Brand & why?

Thanks in advance.

/ So many choices to buy... #2  
Yes, you're right, there are so many choices. So far you've only looked at two, which is good, but only a start. Right now my preference is Kioti and LS. They both make very strong, heavy capable tractors with more features for less money. Fit and finish is excellent on both.

Everybody here is biased, so take all advice for a specific tractor with a grain of salt, including mine. The most important thing is not to get focused on one brand or another without looking at everything available first.

As far as Kioti goes, I would look at the DK line, either the DK40 or DK45, depending on price difference. From Kubota, I would look at a L4240 (or maybe we're into the XX60 series now) or bigger. It's at that point you get a very strong loader that will compare to Kioti and LS. I don't know the models for all the other brands, but a tractor with 2500# lift cap. or more for the FEL is a good start, and that will be in the 40-50 hp range for most.

Good luck.

/ So many choices to buy... #3