Tractor Sizing Advice on Buying JD 855 w/attachements

/ Advice on Buying JD 855 w/attachements #1  

gmikem206

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota BX 2660
I hope to look at a JD 855 (4WD SVC) with 70A FEL, HD Blade, 60" MMM, 3 pth, with 1203 hours, turf tires(which they say 10% front 25% rear). %s mean remaining tread life, yes? Some concerns: How do you know the hydraulics are solid? Also are hr meter readings semi-reliable? Would a dealer know if hours are basically correct? At less than $10k from a dealer is this a reasonably good deal? Mowing 3+ acres, driveway is 600 feet. Need to move wood, rocks, dirt around yard. Is the JD 855 as equipped a good match for these jobs? As I'm in NJ not a lot of used equipment in area. Thanks!

Last edited:
   / Advice on Buying JD 855 w/attachements
As I am new to TBN, and moving from a 'garden' tractor to a compact tractor I'd sure appreciate your help. Guess I am trying to find out what are the major concerns of buying older equipment, and get suggestions on tractors to consider. Can't really justify cost of new at this time. Most likely I will be looking at the two majors in this area JD and Kubota. Thanks for your input.

/ Advice on Buying JD 855 w/attachements #3  
The 855's are built like a tank. Traded mine off last year when I bought a new tractor. It had 1300 hours on it with the 60" deck. It was a 2wd minus the loader. I believe I got around $6000-$7000 for trade in out of it. I would say the hours should be right for the tractor. Mine was a '98, I got it in '00, the dealer actually was the previous owner and used it on his farm.