Price Check Opinions requested on price and performance

/ Opinions requested on price and performance #1  

hipilot

I am a complete newbe who needs a tractor, but has never sat on a tractor.

We recently purchased a home and 10 acres in the Arkansas Ozarks (read rocks) and will be buying more acreage soon. Presently, we have about 5 acres to mow and 5 acres to bush hog all sloping. In addition, we have post holes to dig, a gravel road surface to level, and in the near future will have dense cedar groves to clear and lots of trash to haul around.

I think that my tractor needs are defined by:
1 simple to operate and maintain
2 four wheel drive
3 Thirty or more HP
4 FEL, bush hog, some kind of blade and finish mower
5 an absolute height limit of 83.5 inches to avoid having to rebuild my garages.

Now, before I can do any real comparison shopping, while looking at other prospective real estate purchases, I have been offered a deal that appears attractive. I must have a reply by Friday to an offered tractor.

Here is the offer: A Kubota L2900 - 4 wheel drive with a FEL, a finish mower and Deere brush hog, vintage 1995 with 323 hours on the meter. AG tires. The condition appears cherry. The price is $11,500.

Should I rush over with my checkbook, my pickup and trailer and grab it before somebody else finds it or should I continue my tractor education until I am better able to make a rational decision?

Help!

/ Opinions requested on price and performance #2  
Well, you said "simple to operate" and whether a manual transmission tractor qualifies depends on the operator, I suppose. I prefer hydrostatic transmissions myself, but if a manual transmission suits you, I'd said you ought to buy that one. Assuming your description is right and the hour meter is right, sounds like a good deal to me.

/ Opinions requested on price and performance #3