Buying Advice Diesel generator for home back up use

/ Diesel generator for home back up use #1  

huntgrouse

Tractor
Kubota BX 25
Maybe this is the wrong section. I am new to Tractobynet so forgive me.
I live in the rural northeast. back in 2011 we had sever power outages. I want to get a home generator to address that potential problem. Power was out for 6 days so I need more than a small 2-3KW. I want a diesel since I have a Kubota tractor and have diesel around and also have oil heat and two 275 gal. tanks to pull from. . Plus diesel doesn't have the long term storage issues that gas does. In NY all fuel oil is now low sulfur so its exactly the same as diesel except for color. When power goes out , the one gas station in town cant pump and las t long term outage the roads were closed and we couldn't even get to a town with power.
so, the logical solution is a generator , running on diesel/fuel oil. Researching the market, all I see is up to 7KW and then its a 4x price jump to go to 10-12 KW.
Trying to find prices for Kubotas smaller diesel generators or anyone else's for that matter is difficult There are plenty of Chinese 7KW out there but they concern me with all the poor reviews.
based on my rough calculations I need 10 KW.
anyone have any suggestions, ideas, recommendations?

/ Diesel generator for home back up use #2  
Welcome!

How about a 3pt pto-driven generator using your Kubota? Cheaper but it does tie your tractor up when in use.

10KW is a lot of power for a typical household. How sure are you that you need that much?

/ Diesel generator for home back up use #3  
Welcome!

How about a 3pt pto-driven generator using your Kubota? Cheaper but it does tie your tractor up when in use.

10KW is a lot of power for a typical household. How sure are you that you need that much?

Agree that a PTO generator would be ideal. One less engine to maintain, cheap-ish, and plenty of juice to run the whole house.

/ Diesel generator for home back up use #4