Buying Advice Looking to buy my first tractor, need advice on what to look for

/ Looking to buy my first tractor, need advice on what to look for #1  

nfernandez

Bronze Member
Tractor
John Deere 2210
I need some help deciding on an old tractor. I am very new to hobby farming and owning a house. I am looking for an older tractor that will plow my 500 foot driveway, brush hog an acre field once a year, and plow a small garden (under a 1/4 acre).

I have narrowed it down to needing a utility tractor, but I am looking at spending under $5000 for my first dive into owning a tractor. From what I can tell, this gets me to an older tractor from the 50s - 60s, which is fine. I am just having a hard time understanding what brand, how much power, and what features/options I should be looking for.

I have seen several Ford 9N tractors for under $3000 in my area, which seem to be a great price, but not sure they will handle what I am looking for. Can anyone suggest what I should be looking for in a utility tractor that would fill my needs?

/ Looking to buy my first tractor, need advice on what to look for #2  
Welcome!

Sorry, not that familiar with old tractors but compared to a 9N, I would look for an 8N and use an over-running PTO coupler. Those run around $2500-$3500.
You do want one that runs when you need it, especially for the snow work.

/ Looking to buy my first tractor, need advice on what to look for #3  
I would stay away from the Ford N models because they have no live hydraulics and no live power take off. For $3900-5000 you can get a good utility tractor with live hydraulics, live pto and possibly power steering. I have had experience with the following tractors:1. Oliver 550 -6 speed transmission, independent pto, good parts availability great overall tractor 2. Massey 135 about the same features as the Oliver 3. Ford 641 or 841 probably easier to find.

/ Looking to buy my first tractor, need advice on what to look for #4