Tractor
    Nothing YET.

Default Hello from the midwest. New land owner Ima need a tractor.

Recently moved into a wooded plot with 4 acres of woods and about an acre of grass. My wife has given me the go ahead to hunt down a tractor that will suit our needs which are as follows:

Need to cut trails in the woods and maintain trails with a brush hog. Maintain our long gravel driveway. Till a small garden. Move rock and soil (loader to come later). Plow our driveway. Pull stumps.

I'm new to the tractor world but like to think I have a mechanical mind (like to work on cars, gokarts, anything that moves), so I'm working to figure out what size tractor I will need. I'm thinking a compact tractor will suit my needs with it's ability to squeeze through the woods. I'm also wanting 4wd. My budget is low at $3000-$4000 (tractor only). I like the positive things I hear about Yanmar compacts, so I'm focusing on them and research other brands as I come across them in my search.

I feel like a Yanmar 2020D would really suit my needs but I've found a 1510D for a decent price and in good shape. Would a 1510D handle my needs? Any thoughts or advise is greatly appreciated. Any other tractors I should really hunt for?

Cliffs:
    $3000-$4000
    Compact
    4wd
    parts easily found
    loader in the future
    brush hog
    grading

Platinum Member
    Tractor
    JD 4720, JD X748SE, JD 997, Farmall "B"

Default Re: Hello from the midwest. New land owner Ima need a tractor.

Is that 3,000-4,000 or 30,000-40,000?

Elite Member
    Fanning Springs, Gilchirst County, North-Central Florida
    Tractor
    Kubota Tractor Loader L3560 HST 37-hp / 5,400 pounds

Quote Originally Posted by Gravet View Post
    Need to cut trails in the woods and maintain trails with a brush hog. Maintain our long (??) gravel driveway. Till a small garden. Move rock and soil (loader to come later). Plow our driveway. (??) Pull stumps.