Decisons, decisions, what tractor to buy??

/ Decisons, decisions, what tractor to buy?? #1  

Ilovemytractor

Tractor
none presently.
Hello, I am new to this form and thought I might see what folks think.
We have a 100 acre hobby farm. (new to us) and we want to buy a tractor.
I was thinking Kubota m9960 with loader or maybe kubota m100gx and possibly the John Deere 5100m. At this point I am tractor dreaming and trying to figure out what brand and what hp I want. I am up here in Canada and we have lots of snow. So for sure i will be plowing and blowing snow. Getting older and I am thinking a hay crop or perhaps soy beans. I don't want some massive operation but something fairly straight forward to do with my land. Our John Deere dealership is a hour away but we have a Kubota dealership really close. What do people think of Kubota. I like John Deere but they seem somewhat overpriced. Thank you.

/ Decisons, decisions, what tractor to buy?? #2  
Kubota is a very nice tractor. Welcome to the tractorbynet.

/ Decisons, decisions, what tractor to buy?? #3  
Welcome to the site.

I have a JD3720. I really like it. I have a front mount snow blower which I would not part with. My tractor is 43hp. I would recommend something in the 50+hp for you. the choices that you have listed are good. I am partial to JD, however my friend down the road from here has a Kubota m9960 and he loves it. I do not know what he paid for it though.
Up here in AK. I have found that as long as you stay within a particular size/hp rating the prices are pretty comparable (within a few hundred dollars of each other).
For me it came down to ease of service and that fact that the JD dealer was in my town. The nearest Kubota dealer is about 3 hrs.(180miles) from where I live and there were no authorized service centers in my area. I got a great tractor for a decent price. The zero down/zero interest plan was helpful too.