Grey Market, Cheap Market...... What's the deal?

/ Grey Market, Cheap Market...... What's the deal? #1  

GMO750

Tractor
None yet
Grey Market, Cheap Market...... What\'s the deal?

Allllllllright, I'm a newbie to the realm of tractors - I've been poking around local dealerships and the far reaches of the internet trying to find the answer to what I need in a tractor. Increasingly, these "grey market" (yanmar, itseki, etc..) and what I call "cheap market" (farm pro, jinma, nortrak, etc..) jobbies are getting my attention due to the high price of the mainstream brands - does anyone have long-term experience with these foreign and non-name brand beasts? I want a 4x4 in the 18 - 25 hp range with a loader. Also, how does the performance of the aftermarket loaders (koyoker (I think) etc...) measure up to those found on JD, NH, etc...?

I guess I'm looking for value and reliability....not nessasairily an herloom. Also, I'm not too concerned about close dealer proximity etc... as long as I can get the parts.... I can fix it.

Sorry for the inflated question folks - just hoping some light can be shed.

/ Grey Market, Cheap Market...... What's the deal? #2  
Re: Grey Market, Cheap Market...... What\'s the deal?

Hey there:

I've got achina tractor (JINMA) which is going by about 30 different names here in the USA. Nortrac, Farmpro, Agracat and a ton of other names, it is about the most popular one, for Price per $. I hear lots of stories about greys didn't hear much bad about the jinmas. so I got one about 20 months ago great tractor runs like a top gear drive like 8/9ns only much stronger than them. Only draw back is lack of syncro shift.

I have the import FEL too, it works and I've well abused it it does drop down now after over loading it lots and is a bit tweaked by pushing it aginst large rocks in the 400+ lb class easy...

Anyhow I highly say get one. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

/ Grey Market, Cheap Market...... What's the deal?