John Deere 4210...Is this a good tractor and selling price??

/ John Deere 4210...Is this a good tractor and selling price?? #1  

jodebg

Platinum Member
Tractor
Kubota B-2650
John Deere 4210
2002 model year
JD 420 loader
198 hours
one owner
garage kept
28 hp diesel
hst
4x4
R4 tires
tilt wheel
folding rops
I-match hitch
JD LX5 rotary cutter with a slip clutch
asking price $14,500

1. Is this a good reliable model and is this a good price?

2. What makes the JD weigh so much more than a comparable Kubota?

3. Is the extra weight an advantage?

Last edited:
   / John Deere 4210...Is this a good tractor and selling price?? #2  
I'm far from an expert on that model, so I can't comment about it's reliability, but I'm not impressed with the price. For around the same price you could buy a new tractor that will have more power, a lot more FEL capacity, and lift height, more standard features, and a warranty (among other things), but you probably couldn't fit the rotary cutter in for that price.

I'm not suggesting you should buy any particular brand, but I know my local dealer is selling LS G3033s for right around $15K (advertised is slightly higher, but they'll normally come down a bit). A machine like that would give you the same basic size, same weight, more power at the PTO than the Deere has at the engine, the same 3pt lift capacity, almost double the FEL lifting capacity (to 5" higher), 3pt draft control, telescoping stabilizer bars, similar hydraulic pump flow, and a 5yr warranty. I think you could get a Kioti CK for about the same amount of money. Here's a local ad for a 3033: LS 3033 Tractor Loader compact