Another newbie needing help selecting a utility tractor

/ Another newbie needing help selecting a utility tractor #1  

ctusdenny

Tractor
2005 Jinma 284
Hi. I just purchased 20 acres in Washington state (US), near Cashmere. I'm completely new to tractors, and have been reading through the forums here. A lot of good info, but figured I'd ask my questions outright.

Out of the 20 acres, the house sits on about 1.5 acres of flat ground. There is about 3/4 acre of lawn (grass). There is also a 2 acre grazing field and small barn. The rest of the land is pretty flat, but mostly wild grass and native growth.

I am looking for some help in choosing a decent utility tractor. I won't be working the land agriculturally, nor will I have any livestock on the property. We simply purchased the property as a secluded place to get away from the city (Seattle). I basically feel like I need a small tractor to:

1. Mow the wild grass and weeds around the property. (Don't need it for the lawn exactly, since I have a mower for that).

2. Basic tasks around the property (gardening work, etc)

3. Snow removal in the winter (driveway is about 300 ft to the road).

I'm not sure what HP would be sufficient? I'm thinking a small utility tractor with a loader, and a 48" or 60" brush mower. I'm not opposed to Chinese brands as I'm pretty good mechanically and can handle most maintenance and repairs on my own. Just don't want junk that won't hold up. Even with the modest use it will get, as I probably will only put 75-100 hours/ year on whatever I purchase.

Anyway, maybe some of you kind folks have some suggestions?

Thanks

Last edited:
   / Another newbie needing help selecting a utility tractor #2  
What Tractor dealers are with in 50 miles of you?? What is your price range? Do you want New or used?

/ Another newbie needing help selecting a utility tractor #3  
Also consider if you need a cab. Not just for temperature, but to keep away bugs.